Maryland’s Decriminalition of Marijuana Goes Into Effect

A new marijuana law went into effect on Wednesday in Maryland.

“If you’re found with less than 10 grams, you get charged on a civil citation. If it’s more than 10 grams, you can be arrested and charged on a criminal citation,” said Chief Mark Holtzman with the Hagerstown Police Department.

Officials stress that marijuana is still illegal, and they will not change the way they operate marijuana-related cases.

“Not much is really going to change for us,” Holtzman said. “If you’re found with less than 10 grams of marijuana, we’ll issue a civil citation instead of a criminal citation. Other than that, it’s going to be business as usual for the police.”

The fines vary from $100 for a first offense, $250 for a second and $500 for any subsequent offense.

“If they’re under 21 years of age, the person is still going to have to go to court, just as if it were a criminal citation,” Holtzman said. “If they’re over 21 years of age, then they can prepay the fine of $50 on the citation.”

Police say a concern they have is people driving high. If you are suspected of driving under the influence, they will call a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) to the scene and charges will follow for driving while impaired.

– Read the entire article at Your 4 State.